Good morning folks!

The Circle:

The panel was glued up and defects were protected; the only thing left to do was cut the Lazy Susan out. Options: Router with a jig, bandsaw with a jig, tablesaw with a jig, or coping saw. Obviously power tools were the only option (could you imagine cutting a 24in diameter circle from hardwood with a coping saw!). My bandsaw isn’t calibrated to where I can confidently use it and as much as I fear the router, the thought of cutting a circle on a tablesaw absolutely  makes me wanna change my shorts. Router it is! There are numerous circle jig tutorials on the internet and I got some advice from my dad. I didn’t have much in the way of scrap plywood in the right length to make a fancy adjustable jig. Instead I just took a piece of 1/4in plywood wide enough to hold the router base and long enough to allow for a 12in radius. I fixed the plywood to the router with a few screws and cut a 1in hole in the middle to allow for the 1/4in down spiral bit to come out. Knowing the diameter needed to be 24in I measured from the inside edge of the bit straight down the jig a whole 12in and drilled a hole large enough to hold a drywall screw. The screw was used as the pivot point of the jig (center of the circle). I made my best guess at finding the rough center of the panel; since each plank was left at a rough length I could’t use the diagonals. I essentially just placed the jig without the router roughly in the middle and spun it around until I found the sweet spot. With a scratch awl I placed a hole deep enough to accept the screw but shallow enough to not engages the threads. From there it was just about plunging the router and taking 1/32in passes spinning the router along the panel. Once the cut became a bit precarious when I only needed one more pass; the panel was laying flat on the table so I needed to raise it up to ensure the bit doesn’t contact the table top.

The final cut left the edges a bit frayed so I took a straight bit with a baring to ride along the clean side. This quickly cut away any frayed pieces of wood. Lastly I want to break the edges down to prevent cutting your hand when spinning the panel. A 1/8in round over bit set shallow put the perfect amount of curve along the edges.

Thank you following along with the build. Stay tuned for more projects from the PlaneOleWoodShop. If you have any questions or advice for myself or other viewers please feel free to leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

