Good morning folks!

The Clean Up:

Each new plank measured roughly 4 3/4″ wide by 27″ long. The thickness didn’t take shape until I went to the planer. Before that though , I took my scrub plane to each board; starting with going diagonal with the grain at 45 degrees. By going diagonal with the grain the plane rides along a longer path than going perpendicular but also doesn’t follow and twist or bow in the board. Going with the grain ensures each swipe doesn’t tear the wood out as much; I expected some tear out since I wasn’t going 100% with the grain. Once cleaned up various cracks, holes, and knots became more visible and gave me a better idea of how to treat any defects. I didn’t bother getting the board completely flat; I did more of skip planning to get the board flat enough for the power planer to register the board as flat. One big misconception is the power planer flattens boards; instead a power planer creates a parallel face to the bottom face being registered. If the board has a bow then the planer will follow that bow. So when skip planing I take down any high spots and place it on my flat bench to check the twist. When I put finger pressure on diagonal corners, if the board rocks then those corners are low and the sister corners must be taken down. To take the twist out, one method that has proven to work a majority of the time is swiping along the diagonal that is high; corner to corner being sure to check after every other swipe.

Once I finished skip planing each board I ran each board through the power planer. As much as I love and enjoy using hand tools, my dimensioning is always done using a combination of the power planer for final thickness and the table saw for final width. The power planer makes very quick, although loud, work of trimming down boards whole the table saw ensures a square and parallel rip cut.  Using the power planer I am able to verify that all o the boards remain the same thickness throughout the process which becomes necessary for a seamless panel glue up. After thicknessing the planks the color from the chestnut and oak became very apparent. I decided that since we had two different species with two different colors, why not use it to my advantage; chestnut, oak, chestnut, oak. The color doesn’t stand out enough for the pattern the extremely noticeable but after a few minutes of observation it becomes obvious.

Thank you following along with the build. Stay tuned for more projects from the PlaneOleWoodShop. If you have any questions or advice for myself or other viewers please feel free to leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

